Valentine

December 27, 2007

Take heed, my love, I pray thee
On this holy lover’s day
It is for that I love thee
This saying I would say
Not beneath nor yet above thee
But beside thee I would stay
You became the scowling master
Who over me held sway
And I the fearful daughter
Who drained your strength away
Yet we longed for a friend, a lover
To shield and share the way
I became the scolding mother
Who over you held sway
And you the mewling wee one
Who in my nest did stray
Yet we longed for a friend, a lover
To shield and share the way
We tried for love’s perfection
Instead found hearts of clay
When we saw that we were human
Our frailties barred the way
Forgiveness is the ending
To such a passion play
Take heart, my love, I pray thee
On this holy lover’s day
It is for that I love thee
This saying I would say
Not beneath, nor yet above thee
But beside thee I will stay…

 copyright 1976
Shekhinah Mountainwater
Sung to the tune of "Pretty Flora"
a folksong
 

             

From Moonspell Library

Leave a Reply

