Warrior

December 28, 2007

I have had to reexamine the word
"warrior" many times over the years, especially since I’ve always been
a peacenik and have never liked anything to do with war. The first time
I took a new look was when I was invited to a miltary base, to a class
that was being held there on prejudice and scapegoating. It was put on
by Pepperdine University… a sort of itinerant educational
organization that sets up in different facilities. They were including
witches in their listing of disenfranchised groups and asked me to come
to the class discussion on discrimination against us. There were a lot
of military folk in the class and I found them humane and personable.
One of them, who had been the one to contact and invite me, was a
really sweet guy. He came to visit me in my home a couple of times and
wanted to be friends. Actually he wanted more than that… CCC I
rememember feeling very drawn to him, but I resisted because alarm
bells were going off in my head… "he’s a soldier and you’re a witch!
It would never work!" But it gave me much to chew on regarding my own
prejudices.

Earlier I had read some of the Castenada books
aboutthe mysteries he was learning from his teacher Don Juan.Don
Juanoften referred to what he called the "impeccable warrior" in their
discussions. I wasimpressed by the high standards expected of the
spiritual warrior, and it was clear that the "battle" was not about
harming others… it was about conquering one’s own inner daemons…
discipline…integrity…facing one’s fears...

In recent years I
have admired heroic warrior fantasy figures like Xena as shown on T.V.
… Shera… Amazon Goddesses… Artemis,Diana, Durga… I have to
agree with those who have critiqued the Goddess movement forplacing so
much emphasis on the softer prettier sweeter aspects of the Goddess and
left out Her fierceness, strength, will,protectiveness… qualities
that are more often seen as "male"… This subject recently came up
again in the latest issue of SageWoman which is dedicated to
the"Warrior Maiden." Quel surpriz! There’s a fabulous interview with
Starhawk who says yes, we need both sides to be well rounded. And a
wonderful write-up about Joan of Arc, with art by Thalia Took…

And
then of course there’s beenmy whole journey with shielding. As I
learned more about myself and my softness, I became aware that I needed
to work on my fire and ability to stand up for myself. I’ve been
injured too many times; often in ways that could have been avoided if
I’d known better. I was conditioned to give way too easily, and I think
this is something a lot of sisters can identify with.

Not that I
would ever give up my softness and vulnerability. I think these are
also great qualities and I’m proud of them. We all have our inherent
natures after all, and none of us is a perfect mandala… we all lean
one way or another on the elemental wheel. I have called myself a water
witch many times! :0) This is connected to my identification with the
Mermaid archetype…the Silkie Woman… the Mermaid…the Dark Maiden.
I have discovered a great power here; the power of Pull. Amazon or
warrior energy is more about "push" or "pulse"….assertive,ability to
lead and/or take charge when necessary.These maidens are equated with
the waxing and waning crescents of themoon, and clearly we need all the
phases in our universe.

Learning about the old Woman Warrior
tradition and deep shielding… choosing a magical weapon… dedicating
myself as a warrior for the Goddess… developing my abilities to
invoke my shield and weapon when they are required… have all helped
me so much. I am much better protected now, though I still have more
work to do in this area.

Hm… there’s also a great tradition
of the Fierce Mother. Mother Courage… Mama Lion or Mama Bear
defending their cubs… or Mama Cougar as BSW likes to invoke when she
gets protective of our circle… :0)

And then there are fierce
Crones too right? The Morrigan…! So now I’m getting inspired here…
a pantheon of Maiden, Mother, and Crone warrior Goddesses!

And
still I question any words with "war" in them.I think we need to
unravel all these verbal habits and weed the patriarchy out of them.
But it has to be done with loving care because we don’t want to throw
the"baby out with the bathwater" as George Bernard Shaw used to say…
:0)

Musingly,
Shekhinah

From Moonspell Library

Leave a Reply

