Charge of the Goddess

December 28, 2007

Adapted by Shekhinah Mountainwater
Originally
compiled and composed by Doreen Valiente


Hear ye the words of the Star Goddess
The dust of whose feet
Are the hosts of heaven
She whose body
Encircles the universe:

I am the beauty of the green earth
And the white moon amongst the stars
And the mystery of the waters
And the desire in human hearts.
Call unto your soul
Arise, and come unto me
For I am the soul of nature
Who gives birth to the universe.
From me all things proceed
And unto me all things must return.
Before my face, beloved of all
Let your divine innermost self be enfolded
In the rapture of the infinite…

Let my worship be in the heart that rejoices
For behold, all acts of loving pleasure
Are my rituals

And therefore let there be beauty
And strength,
and power,
and compassion,
Honor and pride,
mirth
and reverence
Within you.

And you who think to seek for me
Know your seeking and yearning
Shall avail you not, lest you know the mystery
That if you seek me
And find me not within you
You will never
Find me without…

For behold
I have been with you from the beginning
And I am with you
Endlessly……

From Moonspell Library

3 Responses to “Charge of the Goddess”

  1. […] used Shekhinah Mountainwater’s adaptation of the Charge, originally by Doreen Valiente, as included in the book Ariadne’s […]

  2. […] used Shekhinah Mountainwater’s adaptation of the Charge, originally by Doreen Valiente, as included in the book Ariadne’s […]

  3. […] used Shekhinah Mountainwater’s adaptation of the Charge, originally by Doreen Valiente, as included in the book Ariadne’s […]

Leave a comment